Optimum reveal their Gulf 12Hr line up

Tuesday, December 10, 2019

With their car already hopefully deposited safely somewhere around the paddock area of the Yas Marina race track in Abu Dhabi, Wakefield based Optimum Motorsport have today confirmed their driver line up that will take on this years Gulf 12Hr in one of their Aston Martin Racing V8 Vantage GT4's.

Having debuted with both the team and car at the final round of the Bute GT Cup Championship at Snetterton in late October sees leadership consultancy executive David Holloway return for another, this time extended venture out in his new race car of choice with two new team mates.

Having tested with the team back and the car at Donington Park earlier this year sees accomplished BMW M3 Cup and BMW M4 Club Enduro racer David Whitmore take that monumental leap up from tiptops to GT4 racing for the first time as he follows his dream to race in the British GT Championship.

He will be joined by an experienced GT4 from the new SRO GT4 America Sprint and Sprint X Series in the form of Flying Lizards driver Michael Dinan. The New Yorkers last two race seasons have been made up of GT4 racing in what was the old Pirelli World Challenge Series in an Audi R8 GT4 in 2018 as well as a Porsche Cayman in Sprint X in the new SRO rules series this year where he and his Pro driver claimed three podium finishes.

Track action will begin for the thirty five entered cars on Thursday evening with the first three hour Free Practice before three further but shorter Free Practice sessions on Friday before Qualifying.

The first 6 hours of racing begins at 09:30hrs local on Saturday morning before a short interlude in the afternoon before the second half of the race is raced out to an aggregated conclusion starting at 17:30hrs local.

The Optimum AMR GT4 is of course joined by the Generation AMR SuperRacing Vantage GT4 of drivers Matt George, James Holder and Steve Tandy.

Photo credits - Flying Lizards / Generation AMR

  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Technorati
  • Facebook
  • TwitThis
  • MySpace
  • LinkedIn
  • Live
  • Google
  • Reddit
  • Sphinn
  • Propeller
  • Slashdot
  • Netvibes