AMR GTD teams look forward to 12Hrs of Sebring

Wednesday, March 13, 2024

The brand-new Aston Martin Vantage GT3 and GT4 return to racing action this weekend as the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship (IMSA) gathers at Sebring International Raceway for one of North America’s most prestigious endurance events; the Mobil 1 12 Hours of Sebring, in Florida.

Three examples of the new Vantage GT3 – which made a successful international competition debut at the series-opening Rolex 24 at Daytona in January prior to its official unveiling in February – will contest Sebring. Aston Martin Racing’s partner teams, US-based the Heart of Racing and Magnus Racing, seek to build on the car’s encouraging fourth place in the season opener as well as the fantastic LMGT3 class double-podium finish recorded by HoR and D’station Racing in the FIA World Endurance Championship curtain-raiser in Qatar earlier this month.

Works AMR driver Ross Gunn makes his fourth start in the Sebring 12 Hours as the Briton joins GTD Pro race-winner Alex Riberas and HoR’s new signing Mario Farnbacher in the team’s #23 GTD Pro entry; the sole Aston Martin in the class, which led at Daytona and finished fourth on its debut.

The sister #27 GTD class HoR Vantage GT3 also led its class at Daytona and some of its crew head into Sebring aiming to add to their glittering list of Aston Martin accolades. The 2022 IMSA GTD champion Roman De Angelis, was also the 2021 IMSA Sprint Cup title winner and was victorious in the 2023 Rolex 24 alongside team principal Ian James, who he shares a car with again this weekend. The duo has finished on the GTD podium twice at the bumpy former airfield venue, placing second in 2019 and third in 2020. Both drivers will be joined by 2021 GTD class winner Zacharie Robichon.

Magnus Racing is no stranger to victory at Sebring either, having won the GTD class on its race debut in 2014. A decade on and the squad, which specialises in IMSA’s endurance events (Daytona, Sebring, Watkins Glen and Petit Le Mans at Road Atlanta) is chasing victory again with team owner John Potter and his American compatriots Andy Lally and Spencer Pumpelly.

Source material - AMR

  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Technorati
  • Facebook
  • TwitThis
  • MySpace
  • LinkedIn
  • Live
  • Google
  • Reddit
  • Sphinn
  • Propeller
  • Slashdot
  • Netvibes