No surprises in GTE as LM24 entry list confirmed

Saturday, February 29, 2020

In a true 'non-news' style report, last nights revealing of the 2020 24Hours of Le Mans entry list provided no surprises for the four, full World Endurance Championship entries from both Aston Martin Racing and TF Sport.

With the WEC and ACO confirming another maximum grid of 62 cars for the end of season finale at the Circuit de La Sarthe in mid June, the two AMR GTE Pro cars will figure as two cars within a class field of eleven cars whilst the AMR and TF Sport GTE Am cars will contest within a highly competitive field of twenty cars with the collective GTE entries this year figuring as half of this total entry.

In customary fashion, both GTE Pro AMR cars list just a sole driver's name although we already know that the #95 Championship leading crew of Marco Sorensen and Nicki Thiim have been earmarked to be joined by former Ford GT racer Richard Westbrook for the event whilst the #97 crew of Maxime Martin and Alex Lynn have likewise with Harry Tincknell, unless of course something has since changed from the teams announcement from early January?

In GTE Am, the #98 AMR prepared car of Paul Dalla Lana, Ross Gunn and Darren Turner and the #90 TF Sport car of Salih Yoluc, Charlie Eastwood and Jonny Adam are both expected to remain as is.

The only little surprise from last nights was confirmation (and as previously reported in earlier last week) was that the Japanese team D'Station Racing AMR did indeed submit a GTE Am invitation request to the governing bodies for their drivers Satoshi Hoshino and Tomonobu Fujii (plus others TBA).

Sadly, they only figure as tenth and final reserve for the 2020 event and they would need speedy and sizeable withdrawal from the grid for this team to have any contention in this years event considering the timescales between now and the Official (and compulsory) test day.

It does however show intent for next years race!

Photo credits - AMR / TF Sport / ALMS

  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Technorati
  • Facebook
  • TwitThis
  • MySpace
  • LinkedIn
  • Live
  • Google
  • Reddit
  • Sphinn
  • Propeller
  • Slashdot
  • Netvibes