Time for one last double podium for the D'Station Racing crew as the GT World Challenge Asia Series signs off at Okayama?

Monday, September 19, 2022


The GT World Challenge Asia Series bucks the trend of series running their penultimate rounds to their seasons as they host their final round to their now shortened 2022 return to motor racing with a fourth and final visit to Japan.

Having started in Malaysia back in mid-May with a comparably small entry, the series had planned to cover off the eventualities of any remaining COVID-19 travel issues with a mid-season, four round Japan Cup before culminating in Indonesia in late October.

That final round was cancelled by the series several weeks ago, so we are now left with a double finale as both the Japan Cup and overall GT World Challenge Series prizes are remain up for grabs at the Okayama Circuit with a continually impressive grid of both GT3 and GT4 machinery.

Competing within the Japan Cup we of course have the D’Station Racing team with their Aston Martin Racing Vantage GT3 for drivers Satoshi Hoshino and Tomonobu Fujii.

After previous double header rounds at Suzuka, Fuji and most recently at Sugo in late August, the #47 D’Station Racing crew elevated their standing within their GT3 Pro-Am class with a podium double – first a P2 before a class win last time out at Sugo to now lie third in class with two races remaining.

Sixty-one points behind the class leading Mercedes AMG GT3 crew of Jefri Ibrahim and Nick Foster, the AMR team will be buoyed up by their success at Sugo over that of the Mercedes crew’s poor results whilst making the most of their ‘local knowledge’ of the Okayama circuit to their advantage to hopefully end the year one place higher in the table than they are now, although any chance of winning the class are obviously long gone.

As usual for any GTWC Series, a one-hour pit stop punctuated race will be held on both Saturday and Sunday of this weekend.

Photo credits – Team / Series
  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Technorati
  • Facebook
  • TwitThis
  • MySpace
  • LinkedIn
  • Live
  • Google
  • Reddit
  • Sphinn
  • Propeller
  • Slashdot
  • Netvibes