Great news from D'Station Racing today soothes yesterdays disappointment

Monday, November 28, 2022


It appears that our earlier surmising that the D’Station Racing Aston Martin Racing powered team were about to confirm a return to the Asian Le Mans Series next year were indeed correct as the Japanese announced earlier today.

Not only were they confirming their return to the ACO rules series, but they also confirmed the retentions of the technical services of Tom Ferrier’s TF Sport crew as well as their World Endurance Championship silver co-driver, Charlie Fagg to partner Satoshi Hoshino and Tomonobu Fujii aboard the teams #77 AMR Vantage GT3.

In the same series this year, Hoshino and Fujii were partnered by Tom Gamble so today’s announcement will add that little bit of continuity for the squad as we also expect them to confirm their WEC programme over the next few weeks on top of an already busy domestic and Asian theatre commitment in 2023.

Again, the Asian Le Mans Series remains at the Dubai Autodrome for two back-to-back four-hour rounds over the weekend of the 11th and 12th February before moving just across the border to the Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi for the two concluding rounds over the weekend after.

For TF Sport, we will wait with somewhat baited breathe to see if they will be in attendance with more than one AMR powered crew again like they did this year.

This news comes the day after the team only just failed to secure the ST-1 Class Championship win at the final round of the Super Taikyu Series from Suzuka. Needing to beat the #2 KTM by more than 3.5 points, things were looking good for the #47 Vantage GT8R crew of Max Orido, Kenji Hama and Jake Parsons for much of the five hour race until fuel levels forced them to pit for a splash and dash inside the final ten minutes.

That was all that was needed by the #2 crew to retake the class lead from the #47 crew and therefore claim the class win and the Championship.

Photo credits – Team / A Lofthouse
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Technorati
  • Facebook
  • TwitThis
  • MySpace
  • LinkedIn
  • Live
  • Google
  • Reddit
  • Sphinn
  • Propeller
  • Slashdot
  • Netvibes