Six Aston Martins to feature within opening round of Iberian Supercars at Jerez this weekend

Wednesday, May 22, 2024


A massive forty-two car entry will greet the fans at the Iberian Supercars Series season opener from Jerez this weekend – their biggest entry list to date.

Within the list we will also welcome an incredible SIX Aston Martin Racing Vantage GT4 powered teams amongst the entry as the Araujo Competicao AMR team is this time joined by both the Racar Motorsport team and the Mirage Racing team with their respective, and mainly all new for 2024 driver line ups.

Unfortunately, gone are Araujo’s reigning GTX Class Champions of Alvaro Ramos and Fernando Soares but the increased AMR line ups will help cater for that fact.

Earlier this week, we posted about how the French Mirage Racing team will be providing one of their cars to young Russian karter Stephan Suslov as he contests a GT4 race for the first time in which we would imagine will be one of their older 17A versions.

Then taking over the #007 Araujo car we have Bruno Pereira and Goncalo Araujo who will compete within the topflight GT4 Pro class as well as Vasco Oliveira and Guilherme Lemos aboard the #28 GT4 Pro entry for the Portuguese team.

The Portuguese Racar Motorsport team will also feature a two car GT4 Pro entry for both Manuel Giao and Mathieu Martins aboard their #2 car and Francisco Cruz and Roberto Faria aboard their #3 car.

Both Martins and Faria will be familiar names having been one of the few race rivals for the Forsetti Motorsport AMR of Mikey Porter and Jamie Day in the GT4 Winter Series as well as Faria also now competing within the #39 GPA Racing AMR within the GT4 European Series.

The final #777 Racar AMR of Ruben Vaquinhas and Pedro Bastos Rezende concludes the six car Aston Martin Racing entry within the GT4 Am class.

Track action for these crews will start on Friday with Free Practice before Qualifying on Saturday with two forty-five-minute races on Sunday.

Photo credits – Teams / Series
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Technorati
  • Facebook
  • TwitThis
  • MySpace
  • LinkedIn
  • Live
  • Google
  • Reddit
  • Sphinn
  • Propeller
  • Slashdot
  • Netvibes