2015 WEC can't come soon enough for AMR

Thursday, February 05, 2015

Streamed live over the internet from the beautiful Pavillon Cambon Capucines in Paris, the FIA today announced the accepted entries for both the World Endurance Championship (including the 24Hours of Le Mans) and the ACO rules European Le Mans Series.

For the WEC it was confirmed that Aston Martin Racing would field a three car squad within GTE Pro with a further two cars within GTE Am class - a nett increase of one from the previous season.

Within GTE Pro the full factory #97 car of Darren Turner and Stefan Mucke; the re-generated Young Driver team (recently confirmed as transferring from from Am to Pro class) featuring Nikki Thiim, Christoffer Nygaard and Marco Sorensen together with a third car for Fernando Rees and Alex McDowell were all confirmed. The third driver for the #99 Rees/McDowall entry is we understand expected to sign within the next few days and will be announced in due course.

As intimated last night, it was also confirmed that the #99 Pro car entry will not be entered under the Craft Bamboo banner.

In GTE Am we will see the return of the 2014 GTE Am Championship runner's up #98 car of Paul Dalla Lana, Pedro Lamy and Mathias Lauda. For 2015, and returning from their 2014 sabbatical within the ELMS championship will be the Gulf Racing Vantage of Roald Goethe and Stuart Hall. Due to the recent rule changes within GTE Am concerning driver ratings a third but now silver rated driver is also currently under negotiation but will be announced until prior to the Prologue in March.

Over in the European Le Mans Series a GTC entry for Caspar Elgaard and Kristian Poulsen in their new Massive Motorsport V12 Vantage GT3 was confirmed but there was disappointment for Beechdean Motorsport however, who's season ELMS entry was rejected.

All thats left now is the 50 day (and counting) until the official Progue (test) at Paul Ricard, France over the 27/28th March.

Photo Credits - WEC / Richard Leach / Massive Motorsport
  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Technorati
  • Facebook
  • TwitThis
  • MySpace
  • LinkedIn
  • Live
  • Google
  • Reddit
  • Sphinn
  • Propeller
  • Slashdot
  • Netvibes