AMR's David Richards honoured by the ACO

Friday, June 09, 2017

It has now become a tradition - every year major figures in the world of the motor car are honoured at the Le Mans 24 Hours and for 2017 Aston Martin's David Richards will be awarded the Spirit of Le Mans Trophy.

Since 2001 the Spirit of Le Mans prize celebrates an outstanding figure who has served the “Esprit Le Mans.” At the 2017 race the Automobile Club de l’Ouest is delighted to award it to David Richards, the President of Aston Martin and Chairman of Aston Martin Racing

Richards’ history at the Le Mans 24 Hours began in 2002. That year Prodrive built a competition version of the Ferrari 550 Maranello, which clinched a dominating category victory in the Sarthe in 2003. While its drivers Peter Kox, Jamie Davies and Thomas Enge were celebrating this success Richards was already working on a much more ambitious project – Aston Martin’s return to the track as he had become the president of the make that won the race in 1959. 

Since 2006 Aston Martin has been one of the most-consistent front-runners in endurance clinching victory in the LM GT1 category two years running in 2008 and 2009 with the DBR9. It then made a foray into the LM P1 prototype category in the sky blue and orange colours of the Gulf petrol company, three-time winner at Le Mans (1968-69-75). Since 2012 the V8 Vantage has been one of the stars of the Le Mans 24 Hours and the FIA World Endurance Championship.

David will receive the Rolex watch that symbolises the Spirit of Le Mans on Friday 16th June at the ACO press conference.

Source material - ACO
Photo credits - ACO / Telegraph 

  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Technorati
  • Facebook
  • TwitThis
  • MySpace
  • LinkedIn
  • Live
  • Google
  • Reddit
  • Sphinn
  • Propeller
  • Slashdot
  • Netvibes