Aston Martin Racing's Class of 2019

Friday, March 29, 2019

Twenty three of the finest young drivers from around the world have been today been selected to participate in the 2019 Aston Martin Racing Driver Academy with the ultimate prize of an AMR Junior contract for 2020 on offer to the winner.

First announced in early September 2018, the search for the next driver to follow in the footsteps of Ross Gunn, who won a similar process back in 2015 was launched with the relatively simple selection criteria of the driver being between the age of 17 and 25 and signed to compete with an AMR Customer team in either a Vantage GT3 or GT4 car for 2019.

From the total number of applicants, a selection panel including the likes of AMR factory drivers Darren Turner, Jonny Adam, Maxime Martin and Team Principle Paul Howarth then whittled that number down to the chosen twenty three - significantly more than the ten previously selected for the 2015 Academy process.

All applicants went through a strenuous selection process including a formal interview at the Prodrive facility in Banbury as well as car simulator and physical fitness assessments with other strategic AMR Partners.

The season long, continual assessment will also run under the watchful of both Charlie Eastwood and Andrew Watson who (we believe) will have an on-site presence at many races within the series and championships listed below with the winner being judged on pace, consistency, technical feedback, team work, strategy, fitness, PR and commercial awareness and their overall approach

Aston Martin Racing President David King said: “We were highly impressed by the standard of the candidates that attended the Aston Martin Racing Driver Academy assessment days. All those who have been selected thoroughly deserve this opportunity. Their performances during the assessment highlights the strength and professionalism of the drivers we have racing in our customer teams around the world.

“The Aston Martin Racing Driver Academy is an important first step on a pathway to success within our organisation. With the recent promotion of Charlie Eastwood and Andrew Watson to Junior status, and former Academy winner Ross Gunn as reserve driver for the FIA WEC team, we now have talented individuals at all stages of the driving ladder within the team. The Academy allows us to draw on significant pool of talent to continue to supply that success ladder.”

For some of the drivers in some of the teams listed below, they also have the added bonus of a member of the AMR factory WEC drivers have a direct association with the team.

Patrick Kibble (UK)TF SportBritish GTVantage GT4
Tom Canning (UK)TF SportBritish GTVantage GT4
Ash Hand (UK)TF SportBritish GTVantage GT4
Josh Price (UK)TF SportBritish GTVantage GT4
Clement Seyler (LUX) Street Art RacingGT4 European SeriesVantage GT4
Julien Darras (F)Street Art RacingGT4 European SeriesVantage GT4
Jamie Vandenbalck (BEL) Street Art RacingGT4 European SeriesVantage GT4
Matthew Cowley (UK)AcademyGT4 European SeriesVantage GT4
Alex Toth-Jones (UK) 
AcademyBritish GTVantage GT4
Micah Stanley (MON) AcademyBritish GTVantage GT4
Ben Hurst (CAN)AcademyBritish GTVantage GT4
Tom Wood (UK)AcademyGT4 European SeriesVantage GT4
Connor O’Brien (UK)OptimumBritish GTVantage GT4
Jack Butel (UK)OptimumBritish GTVantage GT4
Patrick Matthiesen (DEN) OptimumBritish GTVantage GT4
Ollie Wilkinson (UK) OptimumBritish GT/GT OpenVantage GT3
Matthew George (UK) Generation AMRGT4 European SeriesVantage GT4
Akhil Rabindra (IND) Propeak PerformanceGT4 European SeriesVantage GT4
Jeremie Lesoudier (F) Propeak PerformanceGT4 European SeriesVantage GT4
Florian Thoma (CH) Propeak PerformanceGT4 European SeriesVantage GT4
David Griessner (A) Propeak PerformanceGT4 European SeriesVantage GT4
Jeremy Sarhy (F)Propeak PerformanceGT4 European SeriesVantage GT4
Yves Volte (GER)BSEMChina GTVantage GT4

  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Technorati
  • Facebook
  • TwitThis
  • MySpace
  • LinkedIn
  • Live
  • Google
  • Reddit
  • Sphinn
  • Propeller
  • Slashdot
  • Netvibes