Just a sole AMR Vantage entry into January's Dubai 24 - UPDATED

Saturday, December 21, 2019

We may only be talking about the first week in January 2020 but things in the racing world will already be warming up nicely for yet another busy and highly eventful season of racing.

As previously listed, the IMSA Weathertech Sportscar Challenge will be holding their official test (Roar before the 24) on the first weekend in January from the Daytona International Speedway as they ready themselves for their opening round of the season at the Rolex 24 later in January.

Just after those test proceedings will have come to a conclusion at the Roar, and on the other side of the world we will will see the initial track sessions that will then lead into the opening round of the Creventic 24H Series at the 24 Hours of Dubai that will take place over the 10/11th January 2020.

Initially publishing the provisional entry of at least a coupe of Aston Martin Racing teams, the entry list now bears just the sole AMR entry from Newbridge Motorsports amongst the high seventies entry list made up of GT3, GT4, Porsche and TCR cars. This race will be the teams their first race with their brand new AMR Vantage GT4 as they hopefully gear up or a multi series year of GT racing in and around Europe.

Official driver lists for each entry will be released by the Series very soon but we understand that part of Newbridge's new client list will include two drivers who did very well at the start of last seasons 24h Series with what was a brand new Vantage GT4 before bad luck and misfortune in the latter races  of last year destroyed their then Championship lead.

Track activity for this event will begin with Private Testing on Monday 6th January before more formal Free Practice and Qualifying on Thursday 9th January.

UPDATE - Today, Christmas Eve the Series have finally announced the confirmed driver line up per entry an for the #471 Newbridge entry that includes the two former Prosport Performance 24H Series drivers of Rodrique Gillion and Nico Verdonck who will this time be joined by British driver Ricky Coomber and South African racers Paul Hill and Micheal Stephen.

Photo credit - Newbridge

  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Technorati
  • Facebook
  • TwitThis
  • MySpace
  • LinkedIn
  • Live
  • Google
  • Reddit
  • Sphinn
  • Propeller
  • Slashdot
  • Netvibes