No additional AMR entries into this year's 24 Hours of Le Mans (yet!)

Monday, February 19, 2024


Disappointing news from the ACO today as this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans entry list contained no further Aston Martin Racing powered participants with its stated sixty-two strong entry for the fourth round of this year’s World Endurance Championship.

Just confirming the two already known AMR Vantage LMGT3 entries from both the Heart of Racing and D’Station Racing teams, it was just the European Le Mans Series entry from the Racing Spirit of Leman team who found their way onto the seven strong reserve list, still behind that of another Hypercar and LMP2 applications.

Although not totally out of contention should any of those confirmed within today’s announcement, the #72 entry is at least blessed with an already established driver line up of Derek DeBoer, Valentin Hasse-Clot with Maxime Robin (as opposed to their declared ELMS line up recently confirmed) – something that the two entries above could not confirm at the time of their application.

The #27 Heart of Racing team head the new for 2024 LMGT3 class (on the list at least) as drivers Ian James, Alex Riberas and Daniel Mancinelli start their first full WEC season together this weekend with their attendance at the official Prologue in Qatar ahead of the first round of the season just a week later. They took the place of Paul Dalla Lana’s Northwest Racing entry form the Spa Francorchamps last season and finished on something very much of a high as the GTE era came to an end.

They have been busy readying themselves for this with podium winning participation within last weekend’s 12Hours of Bathurst in Australia for both James and Riberas alongside their fellow IMSA racer Ross Gunn and are already race familiar with the new 2024 Vantage GT3 having raced two at the recent Rolex 24.

Then at the other end of the table (sorted by car number alone) sees the #777 D’Station Racing entry of full season racers Marco Sorensen, Erwan Bastard with gentleman driver Clement Mateu alongside, someone who will be replaced by team boss Satoshi Hoshino for the twenty-four hour only.

This weekend’s Prologue test will see all full season entries attend the available track sessions around the Lusail International Circuit prior to the opening 1812km race.

Photo credits – Teams / AMR
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Technorati
  • Facebook
  • TwitThis
  • MySpace
  • LinkedIn
  • Live
  • Google
  • Reddit
  • Sphinn
  • Propeller
  • Slashdot
  • Netvibes