Championship possibilities for D'Station Racing at Super Taikyu finale

Friday, November 08, 2019

The sixth and final round of the Pirelli Super Taikyu Series takes place this weekend in the midst of several weeks of intense motor racing participation for Japanese team D'Station Racing AMR.

Having just wrapped up a rather disappointing inaugural season with their new Aston Martin Racing V8 Vantage GT3 in the Japanese Super GT Series only last weekend, the team still have a mathematical chance of snatching the overall and ST-X Class win (should other results go their way) in the final round of Super Taikyu from Okayama on Sunday.

Again running the driver line up of team boss Satoshi Hoshino, Tomonobu Fujii and Tsubasa Kondo in the teams distinctly green liveried #777 car, they need to finish no worse than second overall and with the two Nissan GT-R teams ahead of them in the Championship not scoring in order for them to make up their 29.5 point deficit to the leaders and claim the top honours.

A no-points score at the third round in Fuji with technical issues is the reason for their lower Championship position after AMR factory driver Darren Turner helped them off to a podium winning start to the new season with their new car.

That may seem like a tall ask but with the 5 strong ST-X class only a small fraction of the sixty car  - eight class strong grid, then anything could happen around the tight and twisty 3.7km Okayama International Circuit.

Just a few weeks ago, this weekend would have been there final race of the 2019 season but for their late entry into the forthcoming 2019-20 Asian Le Mans Series where the team will field one of their AMR Vantage GT3 cars for Hoshino, Fujii and AMR factory driver Ross Gunn. That season kicks off in Shanghai (where Gunn is at the moment in the World Endurance Championship) in just two weeks time.

Photo credits - D'Station Racing

  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Technorati
  • Facebook
  • TwitThis
  • MySpace
  • LinkedIn
  • Live
  • Google
  • Reddit
  • Sphinn
  • Propeller
  • Slashdot
  • Netvibes