Andrew Watson confirmed as Silver driver in D'Station Racing's WEC line up

Monday, March 08, 2021


There’s nothing like a piece a good racing news to start the week off as today TF Sport and D’Station Racing confirm their remaining seat aboard their #777 Aston Martin Racing V8 Vantage GTE for the forthcoming World Endurance Championship.

Already supporting another GTE effort within the WEC’s season 9 with the likes of Ben Keating, Dylan Pereira and Felipe Fraga, the Sussex based team has also become the strategic partner for the Japanese squad as they enter the WEC for the first time.

Today’s news see Northern Irelands Andrew Watson join team boss Satoshi Hoshino and Tomonobu Fujii as the squad’s Silver ranked driver ahead of a season that has now been rescheduled to start at Spa Francorchamps in late April (subsequent to the official Prologue test at the Belgium circuit beforehand) as COVID-10 is still plays havoc with prior intentions at both Sebring and Portimao.

Watson comes with prior WEC experience and podium success having raced with the Gulf Porsche team last season and with sizeable prior experience within the new Vantage platform albeit in GT3 format.

“It's really exciting to have the chance to join D’Station Racing and TF Sport! When you combine their professionalism, expertise and ambition, it's a perfect fit. It's great to be back on the WEC grid for a second season, to continue building my experience and helping to deliver a successful debut campaign for D’Station Racing. I'm also looking forward to continuing to work with AMR. I'd like to thank everyone at D’Station Racing and TF Sport for this incredible opportunity, which I’m very grateful for. I will be working hard to deliver strong results for the team and to build this relationship further into the future" said Watson.

The WEC Prologue will now be on the 26-27 April, with the Total 6 Hours of Spa Francorchamps taking place on May 1.

Photo credits - Garage 59 / D'Station Racing
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Technorati
  • Facebook
  • TwitThis
  • MySpace
  • LinkedIn
  • Live
  • Google
  • Reddit
  • Sphinn
  • Propeller
  • Slashdot
  • Netvibes